The Second Mt. Zion Baptist Church Deacon Ministry was organized to meet the needs of the church of which it is a part.  The Deacon Ministry desires and strives to serve the disciple’s daily needs.  Being servants of the church, as the very word “deacon” implies, we serve wherever there is a need. The deacons at Second Mt. Zion Baptist Church have an opportunity for ministering that is unique.  The ministry maintains regular contact with church members, church activities and church programs so as to encourage, support and nurture, when necessary.  Each member of the Deacon Ministry has become a partner with our pastor, Dr. Theodus Drake, Jr. to carry out the vision and mission of the church.


Ministry Roster :

James Bonner

Derwin Canty

Michael Chappell

Carlton Christian

Carter H. Christian

Reginald Christian

Terry Cooper

John W. Culbreath

Arthur Dyer

Patrick Ealey

Kenneth Florence

Woody Givens

Ricarlo Hawkins

Bobby Johnson – Advisor

Gil Jones

Johnny Jones – Secretary/Treasurer

Alexander Jordan Jr.

Alexander Jordan Sr.

Samuel Jordan

Walter McClendon

Willie Mitchell Sr.

Carl J. Parker Jr.

Carl J. Parker Sr. – Chaplain

Prince P. Reid III – Chairman

Deontae Richardson

Michael Robertson

Charles E. Tharpe

Charles L. Tharpe

Bennie Toye

Harris Williams

Brian C. Woodward